PRIMARY SCHOOLS, CLOSURES

- 1321. Hon CHRISTINE SHARP to the Parliamentary Secretary representing the Minister for Education:
- (1) How many Government primary schools have closed from 1996 to 1999?
- (2) If so, in which towns?

Hon BARRY HOUSE replied:

- (1) 14
- (2) 1996 Benger, Birralee (metro), Glenorchy, Warwick (metro)
 - 1997 Chowerup, Greenwood (metro), Whiteside (metro)
 - 1998 Deanmill, Gillingarra, Oakford, Pingaring, Port Hedland, Roelands
 - 1999 Karragullen

Note: Birralee Primary School amalgamated with North Innaloo Primary School to form the new Yuluma Primary School.

Whiteside Primary School amalgamated with Cloverdale Primary School to form the new Cloverdale Primary School.

Port Hedland Primary School amalgamated with the old Cooke Point Primary School to form the new Port Hedland Primary School.

Roelands Primary School amalgamated with the old Burekup Primary School to form the new River Valley Primary School.